Kamut

Category: Cutting Terms
Submitter: Chef_Frank

Kamut

- Kamut was cultivated in Egypt more than 4,000 years ago, the name itself comes from the ancient Egyptian word for "wheat". Kamut does contain gluten, but most people who are allergic or sensitive to wheat can tolerate it. Its grains look something like thick, slightly flattened rice grains, and it has a nutty, almost buttery flavor.

Kamut flour can be substituted for wheat flour in most recipes. Combine cooked kamut with dried cranberries and feta cheese for a quick cold salad, or use it as a base for pilafs.

Submitted on:  Wed, 22-May-2013, 12:24