- Kamut was cultivated in Egypt more than 4,000 years ago, the name itself comes from the ancient Egyptian word for "wheat". Kamut does contain gluten, but most people who are allergic or sensitive to wheat can tolerate it. Its grains look something like thick, slightly flattened Rice grains, and it has a nutty, almost buttery flavor.
Kamut Flour can be substituted for wheat Flour in most recipes. Combine cooked kamut with dried cranberries and feta Cheese for a quick cold salad, or use it as a base for pilafs.